Skip to content

Calendar Development Considerations

The creation of school calendars includes (but is not limited to) navigating and implementing the following policies and laws that govern how a calendar is developed within a given year:

  1. Utah State Board Rule – Traditional: R277-419-4
    LEAs shall conduct school for at least 990 instructional hours and 180 school days each school year.
  2. Utah State Board Rule – Year-Round: R277-419-8
    A school using a modified 45/15 day year-round schedule initiated prior to July 1, 1995 shall be considered to be in compliance with this rule if a school's schedule includes a minimum of 990 hours of instruction time in a minimum of 172 days.
  3. District Policy D207 – Calendar Development
    1. The year-round and traditional school calendars will be developed according to the following policy:
      1. Each year, two school calendars shall be presented to the Board; final calendars for the coming school year and a tentative calendar for the next school year.
        1. Two options for year-round and traditional are developed.
        2. Parents and employees in the District are surveyed on these options and the feedback is provided to the Board prior to calendar finalization.
      2. Each school shall have at least a three (3) week summer break.
      3. School will not be held on:
        1. Labor Day
        2. Thanksgiving
        3. Christmas Eve
        4. Christmas
        5. New Year’s Day
        6. Martin Luther King Day
        7. Memorial Day
        8. July 4
        9. July 24
        10. Washington/Lincoln Day (Whenever possible)
      4. A Fall, Winter and Spring recess shall be scheduled.
      5. Grade transmittal days:
        1. Support track changes in year-round schools.
        2. Shall be the first day after the end of each quarter for the first three (3) quarters.
      6. Parent-Teacher Conferences are scheduled as follows:
        1. Schedule by mid-first quarter and mid-third quarter.
      7. Emergency closure make-up days are recommended by Administration and approved by the Board.

Additionally, many requests are received from patrons and employees which the committee considers. It is impossible to honor all requests and comply with policy, however, the committee works to accommodate all reasonable requests to the extent possible. The following are examples of requests the committee considers:

  • Don’t go too late into June because it has an adverse effect on summer employment and vacations.
  • Consider starting earlier for traditional schools to help the AP programs in the secondary schools. The national exams have been set earlier in May the last few years which necessitates having as much time to prepare for the exams as possible.
  • Start school after Labor Day and end before Memorial Day.
  • Try to avoid scheduling parent/teacher conferences on Jewish Holy Days and on Ash Wednesday (beginning of Lent).
  • Don’t schedule secondary parent/teacher conferences too early in the fall. This can be a problem especially with high schools on the block schedule.
  • Try to have a week-long Fall and Spring Break.
  • Try to have a two-week Winter Break.
  • Try to connect grade transmittal days and school breaks together.
  • Try to schedule Veterans day as a non-school day.
  • Don’t schedule elementary/middle and high parent-teacher conferences on the same weeks.
  • Driver Education law requires "seat" time and there can be no fewer than 43 days in any quarter.
  • Try to schedule the same number of days in each semester, if possible.
  • Try to avoid any mid-week track changes in year-round school.
  • Try to end all year-round tracks on Fridays.
  • Don’t schedule “B” track off-track more than 3 weeks prior to Winter Recess.
  • Don’t schedule “A” track off-track more than 3 weeks following Winter Recess.
  • Try to schedule all off-track times for three weeks.
  • Try to avoid starting year-round school until at least July 26th.
  • Try to schedule Winter Recess and Spring Recess the same days in year-round and traditional calendars.
  • Try to give traditional schools a longer Winter Recess and a longer Spring Recess.
  • Try to schedule all Grade Transmittal days on Fridays.

Challenging Calendar Years
This same calendar configuration repeats as follows:

  • 2025-26 (eleven years later)
  • 2036-37 (six years later)
  • 2042-43 (eleven years later)
  • 2053-54 (eleven years later)
  • 2064-65 (six years later)
  • 2070-71 (eleven years later)
  • 2081-82 (eleven years later)

Calendar Committee Information

 Name Position Voting Member E-mail
Michael Anderson Associate Superintendent michael.anderson@jordandistrict.org
Travis Hamblin Director of Student Services (non-voting chair) travis.hamblin@jordandistrict.org
Carmen Covarrubias Administrative Assistant, Student Services carmen.covarrubias@jordandistrict.org
Charlene Arko Transportation charlene.arko@jordandistrict.org
Sarah Palmer Director of Payroll sarah.palmer@jordandistrict.org
Beverly Griffith JEA Representative, Curriculum, D.O. Traditional          x beverly.griffith@jordandistrict.org
Christine Strong JEA Representative, Elementary, YRE          x christine.strong@jordandistrict.org
Tammy Horger JESPA Representative, Nutrition          x tammy.horger@jordandistrict.org
Roxane Siggard JESPA Representative, Administrative Secretary          x roxane.siggard@jordandistrict.org
Lynn Allred JEA Representative, High School          x lynn.allred@jordandistrict.org
Kimberly Stewart JEA Representative, Midde School x kimberly.stewart2@jordandistrict.org
Timothy Brooks JEA Representative, Middle School          x timothy.brooks@jordandistrict.org
Kourtney Andreasen Parent Representative, Bingham Feeder Area          x kourtnet@hotmail.com
Niki George Parent Representative, Copper Hills Feeder Area          x nikimagoo@gmail.com
Jaimi Brewer Parent Representative, Herriman Feeder Area          x jaimibrewer@gmail.com
Cherie Oliver Parent Representative, New Feeder Area          x k.cherie.oliver@gmail.com
Becky McKenzie Parent Representative, Riverton Feeder Area          x becky84065@gmail.com
Jana Pierce Parent Representative, West Jordan Feeder Area          x jlpscraps@gmail.com